a tale of a few cities

My Name in Lights, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam

Posted in Art, Conceptual Art, Photography, text by petercombe on June 7, 2011

.

Last month I mentioned The Holland Festival and the Stedelijk Museum’s joint presentation of the interactive artwork Your Name in Lights by John Baldessari. It was the opportunity to have your name screened for a 15 seconds on the marquee atop the museum extension’s construction scaffolding. I entered my name and on June 3, Your Name In Lights messaged me to say my name would appear Monday, 6 June 11:20:00 AM CET. This left me very little time find a photographer based in Amsterdam. After many Google searches I was able to find one willing to trek over to the Stedelijk and record the event. Amazing that he was able to take the 6 photos in all, in so short a timeframe.

..

Photos: 31pictures.nl / (c) 2011, www.31pictures.nl
3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. marinachetner said, on December 6, 2011 at 2:20 am

    AMAZING!! Wow – that’s an unbelievable story. You need to tweet that to the High Line folks! Thanks for sharing this with me 🙂

  2. petercombe said, on December 6, 2011 at 2:46 am

    Thanks Marina. Not terribly Twitter saavy. 🙂

    • marinachetner said, on December 6, 2011 at 2:49 am

      neither am I – slow learner! But people need to know about your name in lights!


Leave a Reply

